Top10Gadgets

Top10Gadgets is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read our affiliate disclosure

Comparison

Laughland vs PurelyWHITE Deluxe: LED Whitening Kit or Whitening Powder? (2026)

Laughland vs PurelyWHITE Deluxe: a peroxide LED kit against a PAP tooth powder. Compared on whitening power, sensitivity, cost per day and misleading claims.

Portrait of James Wilson

By , Consumer Tech Writer at Top10Gadgets

Updated 6 min readHow we test

Our pick

Laughland whitening kit box with two gel syringes, the LED mouthpiece with cable and an instruction bookletTeeth whiteningLaughland Teeth Whitening Kit

5.6/10$39.99 6-treatment starter kit

LED teeth whitening kit

01Which one is for you

Choose the Laughland Teeth Whitening Kit if

  • You want a visible lift in tooth colour within a week
  • Your teeth handle peroxide without much sensitivity
  • You do not mind a short daily session with a mouthpiece
Read the Laughland review

Choose the PurelyWHITE Deluxe if

  • Peroxide strips or gels made your teeth sensitive
  • Your stains are on the surface: coffee, tea or red wine
  • You want a cheap add-on to brushing with no trays or lights
Read the PurelyWHITE review

02Round by round

RoundLaughlandPurelyWHITE
Whitening power: Hydrogen peroxide lightens the tooth itself; testers measured about 2 shade steps in six days.Wins for LaughlandDoes not win
Sensitivity: PAP works without the free radicals linked to sensitivity, and hydroxyapatite may ease it.Does not winWins for PurelyWHITE
Ease of use: A pinch of powder on your brush, against a 10 to 20 minute session with gel and a mouthpiece.Does not winWins for PurelyWHITE
Cost per day: Under $0.33 a day for the powder, against $6.66 a treatment for the starter kit.Does not winWins for PurelyWHITE
Independent evidence: Laughland has been tested by an independent reviewer; PurelyWHITE has no published test of its own.Wins for LaughlandDoes not win
Rounds won23

Rounds are not weighted. Our scores (Laughland 5.6, PurelyWHITE 5.6) come from the five criteria on our how we test page.

03Specs side by side

SpecLaughland Teeth Whitening KitPurelyWHITE Deluxe
What it isPeroxide gel kit with a phone-powered blue LED mouthpieceWhitening tooth powder used alongside your toothpaste
Whitening agentHydrogen peroxide, 8% or 11% in formulas NewMouth listsPAP, an organic peroxide; strength not disclosed
Other activesGlycerin, sodium bicarbonate, aloe veraHydroxyapatite for enamel, CPC for breath
Routine10 to 20 minutes a day for 6 daysAdd to your normal brushing every day
ResultsAbout 2 VITA shade steps in independent testingMainly surface stain removal, per research on PAP
Entry price$39.99 for 6 treatments$29.99 for a jar the seller says lasts 3 months
Bundles$69.99 for 12, $119.99 for 24 treatments$59.99 for 3 jars, $89.99 for 5
Guarantee30-day satisfaction guarantee30-day money-back guarantee
Our score5.6 / 105.6 / 10
Our score5.6 / 105.6 / 10

These two land in the same search results for at-home teeth whitening, and they score the same 5.6 out of 10 in our reviews. They are very different products. The Laughland kit is a classic whitening treatment: hydrogen peroxide gel in syringes and a blue LED mouthpiece that plugs into your phone, used for a short session every day for six days. PurelyWHITE Deluxe is a tooth powder you add to your normal brushing, built around PAP, hydroxyapatite and CPC.

So the real choice is between a stronger, shorter course and a gentler daily habit. The scorecard above sums up the rounds. Below is how each round was decided, based on our full reviews, the sellers' pages, independent testing and published dental research. Nobody on our team has used either product.

Which one actually whitens more?

Laughland. Hydrogen peroxide releases oxygen that breaks down stain molecules inside the enamel, so it can lighten the tooth itself, not just its surface. NewMouth's testers measured an average improvement of about 2 VITA shade steps after the six-day course. That is far short of the "7+ shades guaranteed" on Laughland's page, but it is a noticeable lift.

PurelyWHITE's PAP oxidises coloured stain molecules too, and lab studies suggest it does so without softening enamel. But a meta-analysis of non-peroxide whiteners found them less effective than peroxide, with the main effect being surface stain removal. PurelyWHITE also does not disclose how much PAP the powder contains, so it cannot be compared with the formulas tested in studies. Expect brighter teeth if you drink coffee or tea, not a change in your natural shade. Its claim to "permanently whiten 2 to 4 shades in 14 days" is not supported.

Which one is gentler on sensitive teeth?

PurelyWHITE. PAP whitens without producing the free radicals that reach the tooth's nerve, which is why studies and user reports generally find less sensitivity than with hydrogen peroxide. The powder also contains hydroxyapatite, the main mineral in enamel, which has growing evidence for remineralising early weak spots and easing sensitivity.

Laughland is not harsh. Independent testers reported low sensitivity, and the brand sells a peroxide-free formula for sensitive teeth. But its "zero sensitivity" claim comes from a small company trial of 34 people reporting their own results, and peroxide can make some teeth tender. Research also suggests blue whitening lights add little to the effect of peroxide and may increase sensitivity, particularly with stronger gels.

Neither product can promise zero sensitivity for everyone. Stop and see a dentist if either one causes pain.

Which one is easier to fit into your day?

PurelyWHITE. You put a small amount on a damp brush and brush as usual, in addition to your fluoride toothpaste. There are no trays, strips, timers or cables.

Laughland takes more effort but for a shorter time: about 10 to 20 minutes a day for six days, with gel applied from a syringe and the LED mouthpiece powered from your phone. Adapters for USB-C, Lightning and Micro-USB are included. Laughland notes that peroxide breaks down in heat, so do not leave the gel somewhere warm. Its FAQ suggests re-whitening every two to three months, since coffee, tea, red wine and smoking bring stains back.

What does each one cost?

PurelyWHITE costs less per day. Laughland costs less per visible result.

What you buyPriceNote
Laughland starter, 6 treatments$39.99$6.66 per treatment
Laughland premium, 12 treatments$69.99Free shipping
Laughland deluxe, 24 treatments$119.99$4.99 per treatment
PurelyWHITE, 1 jar$29.99Seller says it lasts up to 3 months
PurelyWHITE, 3 jars$59.99$20 a jar, free shipping
PurelyWHITE, 5 jars$89.99$18 a jar, free shipping

Both pages inflate their discounts with "retail" prices nobody seems to pay, from $99.99 for Laughland's starter kit to $59.99 for a PurelyWHITE jar. Compare the totals instead.

One extra risk sits on Laughland's side: reviewers have reported being added to subscriptions they did not expect. Read every line of the checkout and untick any auto-ship option before paying. Both sellers show a 30-day guarantee; check whether opened products qualify and keep your order confirmation.

Whose claims hold up better?

It is close, which is why the scores match. Laughland's basic promise of gentle at-home whitening is backed by an independent test, but its "7+ shades", "100% success" and "zero sensitivity" claims are not. Its ingredient wording is also muddled: sodium hydroxide is an alkali for adjusting pH, not a gum soother, and "clean, natural" sits awkwardly next to peroxide.

PurelyWHITE's ingredients are real and studied, but the product itself has no published trial, and we found no independent owner ratings. "100% peroxide-free" is misleading because PAP is an organic peroxide. The page also tells two different stories about where PAP came from, and its "1,000,000+ customers" has no source. Laughland edges this round because someone outside the company has tested it.

Which one should you buy?

Buy Laughland if you want your teeth to look noticeably lighter within a week and peroxide does not bother you. It is the stronger product, and the starter kit is a fair price for finding out how your teeth respond. Watch the checkout for subscriptions.

Buy PurelyWHITE if you found peroxide strips too sensitive or your stains come mainly from coffee, tea or wine. It is a reasonable daily add-on and cheap per day, as long as you expect brighter teeth rather than a whiter shade. Keep using fluoride toothpaste either way. For gum care, see our Great Gums Lite review, and if whitening cannot fix the problem, our Shiny Smile Veneers review covers a cosmetic option. Everything else is in our dental care section.

Our verdict

Laughland is the better choice for most people who want whiter teeth, because it wins the round that matters most: actual whitening power, confirmed by an independent test. PurelyWHITE wins on sensitivity, simplicity and cost per day, and it is the right pick for sensitive teeth with surface stains. Both score 5.6 out of 10 for the same reason: real ingredients sold with headline claims their evidence does not support. Read the full Laughland review or PurelyWHITE Deluxe review for every drawback before you choose.

Our pick

Laughland Teeth Whitening Kit

For you if you want a visible lift in tooth colour within a week

$39.99 6-treatment starter kit at Laughland

The alternative

PurelyWHITE Deluxe

For you if peroxide strips or gels made your teeth sensitive

$29.99 one 15 g jar at PurelyWHITE

Frequently asked questions

Is Laughland or PurelyWHITE better for whitening?

Laughland, if you want a real change in colour. It uses hydrogen peroxide, which can lighten the tooth itself, and independent testers measured about 2 VITA shade steps after six days. PurelyWHITE uses PAP, which research suggests mainly removes surface stains.

Which is better for sensitive teeth, Laughland or PurelyWHITE?

PurelyWHITE. PAP whitens without producing the free radicals linked to sensitivity, and it adds hydroxyapatite, which has growing evidence for easing sensitivity. Laughland's testers reported low sensitivity too, but peroxide can still make some teeth tender.

Is PurelyWHITE really peroxide-free?

Not quite. It contains no hydrogen or carbamide peroxide, but its whitening agent, PAP (phthalimidoperoxycaproic acid), is chemically an organic peroxide. It is gentler than hydrogen peroxide, but the label's "100% peroxide-free" is misleading.

Can I use Laughland and PurelyWHITE together?

You could use PurelyWHITE afterwards to help keep surface stains from returning after a Laughland course. Do not stack them during the same week, and ask a dentist first if your teeth are sensitive or you have crowns, veneers or fillings on visible teeth.

Do either of them whiten crowns or veneers?

No. Neither peroxide nor PAP changes the colour of veneers, crowns, bonding or fillings. Whitening the natural teeth around them can leave a visible mismatch, so talk to your dentist before using either product if you have dental work on front teeth.

More on Laughland vs PurelyWHITE

Portrait of James Wilson

About the author

, Consumer Tech Writer

James Wilson covers health and wellness technology for Top10Gadgets: breathing devices, massagers, hearing aids, dental and weight-loss products, and the other gadgets sold with a promise to make life easier. James write…

  • Health and wellness gadgets
  • Over-the-counter hearing aids
  • Breathing and massage devices
  • FDA clearance and registration
  • Tech for beginners

Writing for Top10Gadgets since 2026Full profile